My first yoga class

Can you believe it’s taken me this long to actually attend a yoga class? Sure I own 2 Yoga DVD’s (see the bottom of this post), but I’ve never been in a class before.

The thing about classes…I get competitive.

In my head, there’s the ego part of my brain saying “oh baby I can stretch so much farther than her…SUCKER!” Then there’s the other side (superego?) saying “Just compete with yourself, GO FURTHER!”

The middle part of my mind (I am only left with the id at this point) has a little Tony Horton voice…”do your best and forget the rest…” To the non-p90x-ers out there, this simply means “do what you can, and that’s all you need to do. Don’t beat yourself up (mentally) for your lack of flexibility, strength, etc.” A really good life mantra if you ask me!

Ah, yoga on the beach. How soothing!

But I digress. The class was fantastic and I felt very relaxed afterwards. But while in the car I started getting really frustrated with all the things I still have yet to do…organizing, immunizations, cooking, etc…and I wanted to get back into that class for that hour of zero technology, distractions, and responsibility.

Needless to say, the group experience was great. With my DVDs, I am tempted to turn off the DVD and forget the Yoga altogether, but with a class, you can’t leave!

And that’s a good thing 🙂

Yoga DVD’s that I love:

Yoga for Beginners by Barbara Benagh: my 1st yoga DVD, on the beach, her voice is so soothing, it’ll make you fall in love with Yoga, promise! purchase here

P90x Yoga X: intense, sweaty, and a good yoga intro, read a review here

Some cool articles:

From yogajournal.com here is an article about all the different styles of Yoga

Leave a Reply

