Winter Break

Tomorrow begins the roadtrip to Florida where I start my internship. I can’t believe this is actually happening. Planning for this internship, this major life event, started 3 1/2 years ago when I selected my major and did major research on it. I am a cluster of emotions: excited to start a new life chapter, sad to leave home/parents/friends/THE familiar in general, eager to learn all that I can in the next 8 months, anxious that my dog might pass away while I am gone, open to new friendships and relationships that will develop out of all of this.

Life will be a lot different from here on out, that’s for sure, but I will still be the same person, more or less  😉

21 days of no work, school, or sorority obligations = the longest break I have ever had from either. Wow. Here is a little list of what happened:

  • Graduation
  • Quiet Christmas at home
  • Saw Avatar, 500 Days of Summer, and the Princess and the Frog
  • Started reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Traveled to grandparents for New Years day
  • Cooked 4 new recipes: black bean chili, lime/pepper couscous, pomegranate squash, balsamic beans and spaghetti squash
  • Began Turbulence Training (interval training) on the treadmill
  • Finished 2nd go-round of P90x
  • Wrote about 20 blog entries
  • Attended the annual Christmas Cookie Decorating Party and the right-side of my brain showed up, (aka the cookies turned out pretty!)
  • Purchased Wii Fit Plus, really fun
  • Packed, packed, packed!
4 thoughts on “Winter Break

  1. Thanks for keeping me up till 2:30! I am now fully caught up on the blog 🙂 You are so gifted at writing! I can’t wait to continue reading when you make it to Florida! Although you probably won’t see this till you get there, happy and safe traveling!!
    Love!

  2. Hope the first week is going well! I want to hear what you think of Turbulence Training once you’ve done it a bit. It looks interesting and I’m always up for a good program – but I prefer videos to reading (because pretty much my whole life is reading right now) so I’m hesitant to get it until I hear more from you. 🙂

    You are my fitness guru. Tiff

  3. Haha glad that both of you enjoyed it! Tiffani: I will definitely let you know. It’s an investment piece ($40-80 or so) and I spent quite a bit of time considering and reconsidering it. I will let you know as I keep doing it.
    I like being a guru. It has a nice ring to it. I don’t think I am worthy though!

Leave a Reply

