The cat

This is what it looks like. That's all I have to caption here.

Maybe I am a complainer now (see previous post) because of this cat. Which “got out” last week. No, really, it ran out the door when my hands were full. I did make an honest attempt to catch it. I even “bolted” out of my business clothes and put on mud-tolerating shoes to look for the animal. And I did manage to catch, but I made the mistake of treating it like a dog and pulled it by the collar, promptly followed by the cat’s hissing and claw activation. Good. Now it’s perfectly straight in my brain that cats ≠ dogs. In case I was confused earlier…

I decided the sacrifice of my sacred southpaw was not worth this animal’s well-being as it was hissing at me. So I went inside, called my roommate, and felt zero guilt.

Actually, it was more like negative-zero guilt. Like, I was glad it was gone. I think negative-zero on the “guilt side” means pluses on the “happy side.” Guess my PETA membership just expired.

Sadly, it came back. The cat, I mean. That’s to what I am referring when I say “it.” It used to be an outdoor cat, so it knew to get food at 6pm when roomie came back home…it waited for her by her car. And I was sad that it was back.

I told my roommate that one day the cat might not be here. I might “set it free” into the woods near our apartment.

Animals love freedom. Especially domesticated ones who eat from a can on a scheduled routine and don’t respond to human love and affection. Yeah, he’d do real “well” out there. Just like I’d feel really “guilty” about it.

One thought on “The cat

Leave a Reply

