Why musicals are funny

Just listen to the lyrics and you will appreciate it. If you don’t find these selected parts funny, then I question our friendship. Or lack thereof.

“Gaston”: Beauty and the Beast

LeFou: No one’s got a swell cleft in his chin like Gaston
Gaston: As a specimen, yes, I’m intimidating!

As you see I’ve got biceps to spare
LeFou: Not a bit of him’s scraggly or scrawny
Gaston: That’s right!
And ev’ry last inch of me’s covered with hair
Chorus: No one hits like Gaston/Matches wits like Gaston
LeFou:
In a spitting match nobody spits like Gaston
Gaston:
I’m espcially good at expectorating!”

“Practically Perfect”: Mary Poppins

“Both prim and proper and never too stern
Well-educated yet willing to learn
I’m clean and honest, my manner refined
And I wear shoes of the sensible kind”

“Make’em Laugh”: Singin in the Rain

Make 'em laugh, Cosmo

Though the world is so full of a number things,
I know we should all be as happy as
But are we?
No, definitely no, positively no.
Decidedly no. Mm mm.
Short people have long faces and
Long people have short faces.
Big people have little humor
And little people have no humor at all!
And in the words of that immortal buddy
Samuel J. Snodgrass, as he was about to be lead
To the guillotine:

Make ’em laugh
Make ’em laugh

One thought on “Why musicals are funny

Leave a Reply

