Stream(s) of Consciousness

So I was washing my cherries yesterday, just a thinkin’ about life and, well, washing cherries slash removing stems, when I had a 15-minute brain lapse into total stream of consciousness. I mean full out hopping from thought-to-thought-to-thought. Didn’t realize how my mind got to the concluding thought. And the worst part was, I couldn’t stop it. It was like an outer body experience. So strange. It went something like this:

“I am cleaning cherries and picking off the stems

I wonder if everyone picks off the stems

I wonder if everyone eats the pit

I just go ahead and eat the pit

Waste of my time to pick off the stem and the pit

I wonder if there are any long-term studies with cherry pit eaters and GI effects

Are there other “I don’t have time for this” fruit eaters out there in the world?

Do people’s culinary preferences reflect how patient/impatient they are in regards to how long they are willing to wait for food prep?

I also eat apple cores, Any studies on those?

My dad eats the apple core too. I mean, might as well, right?

I wish I could go on a road trip with my dad

My dad sent me a picture of himself at Crossfit this week doing squats

Still wonder why he did that

Although he hasn’t sent me any pics of his tongue recently, he used to do that

Wonder if he’s just too busy now with work and working out to take pictures of his tongue. Or the dog posed beer in the driveway. Not getting any of those pics anymore either.

What part of the country do these cherries come from?

What was the carbon emission to transport them here?

Could I have just grown these instead?

I wonder if Jacksonville ever has traffic as bad as Houston

I wonder why it’s not as humid here even though we’re on the same lattitude line

I wonder if my boss, Sherry, likes cherries. That would be quite, er, contrary.”

Why yes, the thought ran through my mind (couldn’t you tell?) that I’ve lost it. Thanks for asking.

And to think, it all started with some overpriced cherries.

2 thoughts on “Stream(s) of Consciousness

  1. hahahah i love this post so much. funny thing is i was just eating cherries… and now im wondering these questions too! I usually pick the stem and spit out the seed. but sometimes i accidentally swallow like 5 of em eek

  2. hahahah i love this post so much. funny thing is i was just eating cherries… and now im wondering these questions too! I usually pick the stem and spit out the seed. but sometimes i accidentally swallow like 5 of em eek
    +1

Leave a Reply

